At the Parallax Colony, one couple spent their lives endlessly contradicting each other, despite Alexander's reminding them about the higher... the fewer.
It his was cool, X=5. OR If you just argued, play an Event card now (X=0). OR Nullifies Parallax Arguers (X=opponent's Arguers points +5.
Point-Box on card: X bonus points (you score points, when you play or use this card).
Characteristics: bonus points.
Rule hint for this card
This card has an clarification:
This interrupt has multiple functions. During initiation of the card play, you must declare which function of the interrupt you are using and meet any conditions for using that function. If you do not meet the conditions for that function, it is an invalid card play and the card returns to your hand. See actions - step 1: initiation.
The condition for using the first function of the card is that “that [unknown icon - the previous game action] was cool.” This means that you say it was cool, and your opponent does not disagree with you. (He does not have to actively agree.)
The condition for using the second function of the card is that “you just argued” over the coolness of the last game action. This means that you said it was cool, and your opponent disagreed. No other “arguments” count for this card.
Here’s how to play Parallax Arguers (PA) for the first two functions:
- Just after a game action is completed, say “That was cool,” and attempt to play PA. If your opponent does not disagree, carry out the results of the first function: place the PA in your bonus point area, with X=5. If your opponent disagrees, return the PA to your hand; it was an invalid card play(the condition was not met).
- You now meet the conditions for the second function. If you want to use that function, say, “We just argued,” and play the PA. Carry out the results of the second function: play an Event card from your hand, and place the PA in your bonus point area with X=0. If you do not want to use this function, you don’t have to.
Here’s how the third function (nullifying another PA) works:
- I play a PA (for coolness). X=5, but...
- You respond by playing a PA to nullify my PA. Mine is discarded; for yours, X=10, but...
- I respond by playing another PA to nullify yours. Yours is now discarded; for mine, X=15.
In other words, if we play a chain of PAs, each one nullifies the previous one, and the last player to play a PA scores a total of 5 points for each PA in the chain. All PAs except the last, unnullified one are discarded. The last one goes in its owner’s bonus point area. Unless nullified, this interrupt is placed in your bonus point area regardless of its use, even if its point value is 0. (X=5, 0, or “opponent’s Arguers points + 5.”) Thus, it may not be retrieved and reused after using it to play an event.
Taken form Glossary - Version 1.9.5.
Card logging info: Logged by openCards team at May 1st, 2009.
Common card from Q-Continuum (Copyright 1996 by Decipher)
Image Source: The Next Generation - Cost of Living (Season 5 - Episode 20)
UCT-ID : ST1E 3 C 38 (manufactor info on card: none)
Print-Style : color (standard) / black border / non-foil
No "reprints" for this card (no cards published with same title and game text in another expansion or with another collection info).
- "Everything is a Coincidence" by Clerasil ToB
- "The much more undiscovered Country" by Enabran
- "Cyrus and his evil Ferengi Gangsters" by Enabran
- "Federation Flagship 2016 by Raphael Palenta" by timeruler
- "That's Not Urine, That's Oil" by Matthyas Kiraly
To see all decks with this card click here.
Create your own Deck in the ST1E deck section!Click here to see all trade list entries for this Common card!
Also see here for all trade lists with any card fom "Q-Continuum".