RR #29: The Ins and Outs of Outposts, Part 2: Everything Else
This Strategy-Note was written by Kathy McCracken (aka Major Rakal) and was published first on "Major Rakals Tal Shiar Headquarters (members.cox.net/majorrakal)" at Jun 8th, 1997.
This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:
- Previous "Romulan Review" (# 28): "RR #28: The Ins and Outs of Outposts, Part 1: How Many?".
- Next "Romulan Review" (# 30): "RR #30: Tallera".
Aefvadh! Now that we've figured out how many of the blasted things we MAY seed and how many we MUST include in our decks, we can move on to...
THE INS AND OUTS OF OUTPOSTS, PART 2: EVERYTHING ELSE
First, a repeat of the important card text, minus the lore, just for quick reference:
ROMULAN (KLINGON, FEDERATION) OUTPOST
Common Outpost, Shields 32 (R, K) or 30 (F)
Seed one if playing Romulan (Klingon, Federation) OR build later at any location where a Romulan (Klingon, Federation) ENGINEER is present.
Common Outpost, Shields 24
Seed one at any Space location OR build later at a Space location where any ENGINEER is present. No repairs here.
BTW, I've had some questions about the source of the "must include" outpost rule. It's at the bottom of page 6 in the original rulebook.
Now on to the questions.
1. Where can you establish an outpost?
Affiliated outposts may be established either at space or planet locations. But the mission must have a matching affiliation icon. You can't place a Romulan Outpost at a Klingon-only mission.
Neutral Outposts may be established only at space locations, but that can be any space mission. Because a Neutral Outpost has no affiliation icon, the mission obviously cannot and does not have to have a matching icon, and in fact you may place a Neutral Outpost at one of the universal Space or Nebula mission cards. But beware: crew or ships at an outpost at a universal Nebula will have to face a dilemma (if any are there) if your opponent scores points.
You may establish an outpost either at your own mission or one of your opponent's, as long as it has an appropriate affiliation icon. More than one outpost may be placed at the same mission location, either two of your own or yours and your opponent's.
These placement restrictions apply both to seeded outposts and those built later.
2. Where are outposts located?
Not as straightforward as it may seem. Although it is commonly thought that an outpost at a planet mission location is located on the planet, (especially considering that the images on all the affiliated outposts show planetary scenes), it just isn't so. The most recent FAQs have defined outposts as being located in space, whether they are at a space or planet mission location.
The implications of this definition are that (1) to get your Away Team to a planet mission from an outpost, they must beam (or land a shuttle); and (2) ships can be docked at the outpost, so personnel do not have to beam to get from the outpost to a ship.
3. How do outpost shields work?
Outpost shields have two functions. First, they protect the outpost itself from destruction by attacking ships, similar to the manner in which ship shields protect a ship; but unlike a ship, an outpost cannot be "damaged" or "repaired." If an attacking force targets an outpost with total Weapons that are greater than the outpost's Shields, the outpost is destroyed, along with all personnel and equipment aboard. (It does not require more than double the Shields, as a ship does.) If the attacking Weapons are less than or equal to the outpost's Shields, the attack has no effect other than "stopping" all cards involved (including the outpost itself). Outpost shields may be enhanced by Plasmadyne Relays, but not by Nutational or Metaphasic Shields, which are limited to ships.
The second function of outpost shields is to protect ships docked at the outpost, by extending 50% of the outpost shields to each docked ship. A Romulan ship with Shields of 8 docked at a Romulan Outpost will gain 16 Shields from the outpost for a total effective Shields of 24. Any number of docked ships may be protected in this way, without reducing the outpost's own shield protection. If for some reason you don't want a ship to be protected while at an outpost, you may declare the ship not docked and "outside the shields." If you have two outposts at a mission location, you must choose which outpost each ship is docked at; a ship cannot be protected by the shields of two outposts at once.
An affiliated outpost may protect only ships of that affiliation and non-aligned ships, unless a treaty is in force. A Neutral Outpost may protect both non-aligned and affiliated ships. An outpost may protect only ships belonging to the outpost's owner.
4. What can and can't you do at affiliated and Neutral Outposts?
At an affiliated outpost, you can report for duty ships and personnel of that affiliation, and non-aligned ships and personnel. Damaged ships of that affiliation only (not non-aligned) may be repaired there by keeping them at the outpost for two full turns. If an appropriate treaty is in effect, personnel and ships of the other affiliation in the treaty may also report there, and their ships may be repaired there. The only way to repair non-aligned ships at any outpost is to play a Spacedock event on the outpost.
At a Neutral Outpost, you may report for duty personnel and ships of any affiliation, and non-aligned. However, personnel of different affiliations may not be present aboard the Neutral Outpost at the same time without a treaty. No ship repairs at all may be done at a Neutral Outpost, unless a Spacedock event is played on the outpost.
5. How do you attempt a mission from an outpost?
A space mission may be attempted from the outpost just as you attempt it from a ship: the entire crew aboard the outpost is involved in the mission attempt and vulnerable to dilemmas. You cannot segregate part of the crew so they are not part of the attempt. Any dilemma which "plays on ship" (e.g., Tsiolkovsky Infection), or whose effect is on the ship itself rather than on the crew (e.g., Null Space) is nullified and discarded if encountered by a crew attempting the mission from the outpost. A ship docked at the outpost will not be affected if its crew is not attempting the mission.
A planet mission cannot actually be attempted "from the outpost" because an Away Team must always beam to the planet for the mission attempt. However, they may beam from the outpost rather than from the ship. This is an important distinction for the Alien Parasites dilemma, because a Parasites-infested Away Team that beamed from the outpost cannot take over a ship even if it is docked at the outpost.
The Outpost Raid dilemma has its "If at your outpost" effect if your outpost is located at the mission site, regardless of whether you attempted it from, or beamed to the planet from, the outpost or a ship.
The Major's Combos:
- Neutral Outpost + Spacedock (mundane but utilitarian)
- Any outpost + Gul Madred + Interrogation = extra points
- Your opponent's outpost + Outpost Raid = a double kill, your choice