This Strategy-Note article was written by Kathy McCracken (aka Major Rakal) and was published first on "Major Rakals Tal Shiar Headquarters (members.cox.net/majorrakal)" at Apr 17th, 1998.
This article is part of the article serie "Romulan Review" from "Major Rakal (Kathy Mc Kracken)". Also see:
- Previous "Romulan Review" (# 48): "RR #48: Resistance to Dilemmas is not futile".
- Next "Romulan Review" (# 50): "RR #50: Hippocratic Oath".
Aefvadh! Have you been wondering lately just where you could stock some of the new cards, or which way you could play a card that allows both seeding and playing for different purposes? Let's take a look at a question that has really come to the fore with the preview of Hide and Seek. Everyone has been asking...
I CAN PUT THIS CARD WHERE?!?
Once upon a time, it was easy to figure out where you stocked cards, and how they got into play. Missions, dilemmas and artifacts were seed cards, plus you could seed one outpost for each affiliation you controlled. Everything else went in your draw deck, and counted as your card play for the turn (except interrupts).
After three expansions and several small sets, the lines have blurred, to put it mildly. We have two kinds of side decks, many additional card types (doorways, stations, objectives, time locations, and dual-types), Q-icon cards, Alternate Universe-icon cards, hidden agendas, and cards that "seed or play." When we get a dual-type (dilemma/event) Q-icon card that may also be seeded as a hidden agenda or as a normal dilemma, like Hide and Seek, exactly how to use the card legally can be a bit of a mystery.
To start with, let's consider the different places you can stock cards, and what kind of cards can be there. In each case, I'll be talking about the cards you may normally stock in that deck. Specific card text can always override the rules.
- Seed deck: Technically, you can put any type of card in your seed deck, except for Q-icon cards. However, the only legal seed cards are missions, dilemmas, and artifacts, plus any card that states that it may be seeded (or "placed during the seed phase"), and cards that are specifically allowed to be seeded by another card, such as the personnel that may be seeded with a Cryosatellite. Any card placed during the seed phase that is not a legal seed card is a "mis-seed" and must be placed out-of-play when discovered.
- Draw deck: Again, technically, you can put any type of card in your draw deck, except Q-icon cards. But if you stock cards in your draw deck that must be seeded, you cannot use them when they come into your hand unless you have some way to legally seed them during the play phase of the game, such as under Q’s Planet. The same holds true for properly seeded cards that were discarded for any reason and brought back into your hand (e.g., by Regenerate).
- Q’s Tent side deck: May contain any card except those with the Q-icon (unless allowed by the card). Cards that must be seeded have the same restrictions on use as for cards in the draw deck. Cards may come out of the side deck only if there is an open, active Q's Tent doorway card seeded on the side deck.
- Q-Continuum side deck: May contain only cards with the stylized "Q" icon in the upper left corner. Cards may come out of the side deck only if there is an open, active Q-Flash doorway card seeded on the side deck, and only upon encounter, by your opponent, of a Q-Flash seeded under a mission like a dilemma. You may never encounter cards from your own Q-Continuum or "play" them like normal interrupts or events.
Now let's examine the "default" seed and play alternatives. Again, these are "normal" conditions, and card text may override the rules.
Q-icon cards of all types:
Any card with the stylized "Q" icon in the upper left corner, regardless of "card type" (dilemma, event, etc.), may only be stocked in a Q-Continuum side deck, unless the Q-icon card itself lists another possible location where you may stock the card (e.g., Q's Planet may be stocked in your Q's Tent; Hide and Seek may be part of your seed deck). Even if the card does specify another way of using it, you may always include it in your Q-Continuum side deck.
Missions, dilemmas, and artifacts (non-Q-icon):
These card types may only be seeded. Missions are placed face up to create the spaceline during the mission segment of the seed phase; dilemmas and artifacts are seeded face down under missions during the dilemma/artifact segment of the seed phase, with each successive card being placed on the bottom of the stack. Once acquired or earned, some artifacts may be "played" as an event or interrupt, but they must always be seeded and acquired or earned first.
All other card types (non-Q-icon):
- If the card does not say it may be seeded (or placed during the seed phase), then it may only be played. However, another card may allow seeding of cards not normally seedable (e.g., Cryosatellite allows seeding of personnel; Husnock Outpost allows seeding of a Husnock Ship). Examples of cards that may only be played: Major Rakal, U.S.S. Enterprise, Klingon Disruptor, all interrupts, Assimilate Counterpart, Montana Missile Complex, Temporal Vortex, Kivas Fajo - Collector.
- If the card says it may be seeded, and lists no play functions (or says that it must be seeded), then it may only be seeded. However, another card may allow playing of a card not normally playable (e.g., Zefram Cochrane allows playing of Visit Cochrane Memorial on a planet where he is present). Examples of cards that may only be seeded: Mirasta Yale, Husnock Outpost, Visit Cochrane Memorial.
- If the card lists both seed and play functions, it may be seeded and/or played as specified. Seed-only functions may not be performed by playing of the card, and vice versa. For example, to get an Alternate Universe Door on the table (to allow play of AU icon cards), you must seed the doorway. You cannot play it later onto the table for that purpose. Examples of cards that may be seeded or played: RomulanOutpost, Assign Mission Specialists, Q's Tent, Intermix Ratio.
- If a seeded card allows a download during the seed phase, the downloaded cards themselves are not seed cards; they may come from the draw deck or Q's Tent only. The only example so far is Assign Mission Specialists.
- If a seedable card says it seeds like a dilemma or like an artifact, it is seeded face down, under a mission, during the dilemma/artifact seed phase. If it says "seeds on table", or no location or method is specified, then it is seeded like an event, separate from the spaceline, face up unless it has a hidden agenda icon. Cards giving a seed location (on a spaceline end, on a side deck, on an outpost) are also seeded face up.
Finally, let's look at a couple of examples, to see how these rules apply.
Place one atop Q-Continuum side deck during the seed phase. Q-Continuum is now open and in play. OR Seed under any mission like a dilemma. Any crew or Away Team encountering this Q-Flash must experience X cards from opponent's Q-Continuum, where X = the number of personnel present. OR Stock in deck and play to nullify one Q icon card.
This card has two seed functions. The first is to activate the Q-Continuum side deck. For this function, the doorway must be seeded during the doorway seed phase (i.e., the first segment, before the mission seed phase). The second is to seed like a dilemma under a mission. This function may only be used during the dilemma/artifact seed phase.
Finally, it has a play function: it may be stocked in your draw deck and played from the hand, on your own turn only, to nullify a Q-icon card that you encounter from your opponent's Q-Continuum. Note that it could also be stocked in your Q's Tent, because it does not have a Q-icon itself.
You cannot play a Q-Flash onto your side deck during the game. However, you may retrieve discarded Q-Flashes that were seeded like dilemmas (with Palor Toff, Res-Q, or Regenerate), and play them from your hand later to nullify a Q-icon card, because that is a legitimate way to pay the card; or you may re-seed one under a mission if allowed by another card, such as Q's Planet.
Hide and Seek
Shuffle into crew or Away Team. Randomly "stops" personnel one by one. After a â�– personnel or Hide and Seek selected, discard dilemma. (May also be seeded.)
Plays on table. When any player overcomes their own Q dilemma, their opponent may immediately seed up to four cards there from hand, discard pile or Q's Tent; discard event. (May not be nullified. May also be seeded as .)
To begin with, it has a icon. That means you can put it in your Q-Continuum side deck to be encountered by your opponent during a Q-Flash. When he encounters it, you choose whether to treat it as a dilemma or as an event. If a dilemma, carry out the dilemma text and discard the dilemma when you select the â�– personnel or the dilemma itself. If an event, play it (face up like any normal event) on the table to be used when your opponent overcomes his own Q dilemma.
However, its text also allows it to be seeded instead of (or in addition to) placing in your Q-Continuum. You may seed it as a dilemma, under a mission (when encountered, it acts exactly as when encountered in a Q-Flash); or on the table as a hidden agenda event, which may be activated in response to your opponent overcoming his Q dilemma.
It may not be stocked either in your draw deck or in Q's Tent, because it has a icon and does not give permission to stock in those places. Also, if drawn into the hand after being Regenerated, it may not be played as an event from the hand, because it may only be used from the Q-Continuum or as a seeded hidden agenda. It could be re-seeded as a dilemma, however, under Q's Planet or as one of the four seed cards seeded in response to the activation of a Hide and Seek used as an event.