
 
 

First Edition Current Rulings Document 

(02 July 2018) 
Current Rulings are periodic updates to the First Edition Rulebook, including 
changes, clarifications, and situations it does not address. Current Rulings are 
an official supplement to the Glossary and should be used by tournament 
directors in making tournament rulings. (The rulebook is intended for beginners 
and should not be used for rulings.) 

Answers given by official Continuing Committee representatives are not official 
until included in an official rules document such as the Current Rulings, Official 
Clarifications, or Official Rulings. Such answers are highly recommended for use 
by tournament directors, but the Tournament Director always has the final 
authority on rulings. 

This document contains all Current Rulings issued since the Glossary v1.9.5. 
Entries that are new, changed, or expanded since the last Current Rulings 
document are marked with an asterisk (*) before the topic and in red text. 
These rulings are effective immediately. 

For additional resources or to find answers to your questions, please visit 
http://www.trekcc.org.

RULINGS – General 

 
"-related" - see related. 
 
 actions - step 2: responses -- add Hail and Establish Tractor Lock to the list 

of examples with Smoke Bomb and Phaser Burns. (Change "personnel battle" 
to "battle" At the end, add the following: 

 
Similarly, neither Loss of Orbital Stability nor What Does God Need With A 

Starship? are valid responses to a ship beginning movement. 
 
*Add Distinctiveness - Add the following paragraph: 

 
Personnel you assimilate as drones who are later killed, placed out-of-play, 
rescued, etc. are no longer counted in X for this incident. 

 
Alternate Universe icon [AU] – replace the first two sentences with: 
 

Cards with this icon are not from the latter half of 24th century... at least, not 
the one we're familiar with. [AU] cards may be from the past, possible futures, 
alternate timelines, illusions, or even dreams. Ordinarily, they may only play 
to a Time Location where they are "native to the timeline."  
 
Otherwise, [AU] cards may not seed or enter play except while specifically 
allowed to by a card (explicitly using the [AU] icon), such as Alternate Universe 
Door, Temporal Micro-Wormhole, or Dyson Sphere Door.  The enabling card 
might further specify the timing or location of reporting the [AU] card, such 
as with Seal Rift or Where No Man Has Gone Before.  The enabling card must 
use the [1E-AU] icon in the context of enabling the report: for example, 
Marlena Moreau has a [AU] icon, and a special download of Classic Tricorder 
which is an [AU] card, but the download does not reference the icon, and so 
does not overcome this restriction. 

 
Assign Mission Specialists – delete the following sentence 
 

Multiple copies of the same mission specialist may not score points for the 
same mission, even if multiples of that skill are required. See cumulative. 

 
become - when a card "becomes" a characteristic (such as a new gender, 

species, or affiliation), it gains the new characteristic and simultaneously loses 
any other characteristics of the same kind. For example, if Mardah is affected 
by Frame of Mind, she gains [NA] but loses [Baj] and [Fer]. If affected by Q-
Type Android, she ceases to be Bajoran species and becomes Q-type android 
or human species. 
 

capturing-related - delete the phrase "used on Prepare the Prisoner." After 
the bullet list, insert: "Disregard title and lore, ignoring the ordinary = related 
rule." 

 
card draw – add the following text to the end of the first sentence of the 

second paragraph:  
 

(you may do this even if there are no cards remaining in your draw deck) 
 
Contender-related - see related. 

 
*Cytoplasmic Life-Form - Add the following paragraph: 

 
The effect of this dilemma applies only when actually meeting the mission 
requirements (to solve it). It does not apply while facing Lack of 
Preparation or similar cards. 

 
Cumulative – add the following to the list of examples: 
 

Multiple copies of the same card can be targeted by a single card at the same 
time. For example, two copies of Process Ore, even on different Ore 
Processing Units, do not allow you to 'process ore' twice, but, if two copies of 
Process Ore are in your discard pile they each count toward the total number 
of objectives in your discard pile for DNA Security Scan 

 
 
Delete the following section 
 
 Personnel: Multiple copies of the same personnel (whether universal or 

unique) may not score points for Colony, Ressikan Flute, or Assign Mission 
Specialists, or extra points for missions such as Establish Settlement or A 

Good Day to Live, at the same time. (But they may be used to meet mission 
or dilemma requirements.) 

 
Devidian door -- Replace the current entry with: 
 

In order to play this card on table, you must have a card in play which allows 
the play of [AU] cards. Showing this card from hand to avoid losing the game 
does not require an [AU] -enabling card, because showing the card is paying 
a cost. 

 
Diplomatic Conference – delete this entry. 
 
Distant Control - This incident only allows your native personnel at Drone 

Control Room to function as a crew for the duration of the mission attempt. 
When your personnel are functioning as a crew aboard your empty Drone-
class ship for this incident they are affected normally by dilemmas they 
encounter, as if they were aboard that ship, with the following exceptions: 
 
• They may not interact with dilemmas (or other cards placed on the 
ship) outside of a mission attempt, e.g. to cure The Swarm. 
• They may be selected to die, but they will only be killed if they have 
Empathy. 
• They may not be relocated to the spaceline and as such may not be 
captured and held by a trap card, e.g. Cardassian Processing. 
• They are not at the mission; therefore their special downloads do not go to 
it, and they are not affected by 'here' effects such as Distracted by Thoughts 
of Home's attribute reduction. 
 
Additionally, since the Drone-class ship is empty, it is not staffed and if 
destroyed, only cards which are played on it are discarded.  

 
does not work with - replace the final paragraph of the current entry with: 
 
“Does not work with” restrictions that are completely affiliation-based are 
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overcome by any card that allows incompatible cards to mix, such as Release 
This Pain, Brainwash, or an appropriate Treaty. 
 
dual-icon missions – replace the second sentence with the following: 

 
To begin or continue a mission or scouting attempt, or to solve such a mission 
(even using alternate requirements provided by an objective such as 
Subjugate Planet), you must have both a crew on a ship in orbit and an Away 
Team on the planet (each group must have a personnel who allows the 
attempt, e.g. whose affiliation matches one of the mission’s icons) 

 
Empok Nor-related - replace this entry with: "See related." 
 
equipment - replace the last paragraph with: "See related and movement." 

 
facility – add the following after the first paragraph in the Using facilities 
section: 
 

If your opponent seeded a headquarters and you are playing the matching 
affiliation, you may utilize that headquarters as though it were "your facility." 
For example, if your opponent plays The Tower of Commerce on Ferenginar 
and you have played [ FER ] cards, your personnel in that facility are not 
intruders, and you may use Assign Support Personnel to download a support 
personnel aboard. 

 
female-related - see related. 
 
Frame of Mind - Frame of Mind – The personnel affected by this dilemma 

loses  all skills. Any two regular skills in the game may be selected as 
replacements. See become, skills –modifying, timeline disruption. 

 
genetically enhanced - This characteristic is not equivalent to the similar-
sounding "genetically engineered." Hannah Bates cannot use Group Therapy. 
Genetically engineered personnel have genetic alterations from conception, 
while genetically enhanced personnel were born normal but later received 
genetic modifications. 
 
gender-related - in addition to gender-related cards, this includes male-

related and female-related cards. See related. 
 
*humanoid - Change the last sentence to, "No humanoid is the same species 

as any other card, even copies of the same card." 
 
holographic personnel – change the third paragraph to read as follows: 
 

When reporting to a location, ship, or facility where holograms may exist, 
holographic personnel report activated. Otherwise, a hologram is deactivated 
when reported, and may be activated on the same or a subsequent turn (if 
aboard a ship or facility with a Holodeck, or wearing a Mobile HoloEmitter) 
by any of your “unstopped” personnel present (even another active 
hologram). If your hologram is later deactivated, it may be reactivated in the 
same way during one of your subsequent turns (not on the same turn it 
deactivates). 

 
homeworld – add the following text to the list: 
 
 Oppress Population –“[MU] Vulcan … Vulcan homeworld.” 

 
infiltration-related - at the end of this entry, insert: "ignoring the ordinary 

related rule." 
 
loses affiliation - replace this entry with "see become." 

 
Memory Wipe - in the cross-reference list at the end, replace "loses 

affiliation" with "become." 
 
mission attempts – there are three changes to this entry 

 
 *Replace the third fourth paragraph with the following: 
 
To begin a mission attempt, or to solve the mission, at least one crew or Away 
Team member must match one of the mission’s affiliation icons (if any); other 
(nonmatching) personnel in the crew or Away Team assist in the attempt. 
Also, to attempt a space mission, at least one crew member must match the 
ship’s affiliation. (The ship does not have to be staffed for movement or match 
the mission’s affiliation.) Some cards may add further limitations (e.g. 

Quantum Torpedo) or requirements (e.g. Homefront) for attempting a 
mission; these are checked only when starting the attempt. (See dual-icon 
mission.) 
 
*Replace the sixth eight paragraph with the following: 
 
A mission attempt lasts from the time you announce you are attempting the 
mission until one of the following occurs: 
 
• No one remains in the crew and/or Away Team (because they have been 
killed, "stopped", or removed in some other way). 
• After a dilemma is encountered, it is reseeded under the mission to be 
encountered again. 
• A card specifically ends the mission attempt (e.g. Buried Alive). (Does not 
apply to Borg scouting locations unless specified.) 
• All dilemmas are resolved but the crew or Away Team does not meet the 
requirements to solve the mission. 
• The mission is solved. 
 
A crew or Away Team is not "stopped" by the end of a mission attempt, unless 
they failed a condition on a dilemma (or Mission Debriefing is in play). 
 
*Delete the eight ninth paragraph 
 

Mona Lisa - replace the current entry with: 
 
You are directly responsible for destroying this artifact if your non-dilemma 
card destroys it. 
 
 
Persistence of Memory - revise the paragraph about Devidian Door as 

follows: 
 
Devidian Door – While in play, allows you to send a card "to the future." Once 
each turn, you may say "Devidian Door" and take (from anywhere in play) 
one of your Personnel or Equipment cards to your hand. On your next turn 
(or at game end, if sooner), you must show opponent a Devidian Door from 
your hand and place it out-of-play, or you lose the game. (Note that you play 
Persistance of Memory on a copy of Devidian Door played on the table, not a 
copy that is shown from hand.) 

 
Phoenix - Replace the final cross-reference with: 

 "Acquiring the Phoenix at Montana Missile Complex is a normal action." 
 

*Receptacle Stones - replace the current entry with: 
 
Since stopped personnel cannot encounter dilemmas, they cannot meet 
requirements on or be targeted by dilemmas faced due to Receptacle Stones. 

 
Q-related – outside regular related cards, this also includes Q icon cards. 

"See related." 
 

Release This Pain: replace the current entry with: 
 
This card does not override a "does not work with" restriction, such as those 

on War Council and Miles O'Brien. It does override the specific "may work only 
with" restriction on Sybok. 

 
related - A card is "related" to a given term if the card uses that term (or 

normal word form variations) in its title, lore, icon, or gametext. For 
example, Q Gets the Point (title), Helpless (lore), Risky Business (icon), and I 
Tried To Warn You(gametext/icon) are all "Q-related dilemmas" and can be 
targeted by Q2.  
 
There are additional rules for gender-related cards and alternative rules 
for capturing-related and infiltration-related cards. 
 

Sigmund Freud – Delete this entry 
 
*skills – using --  replace this entry  (and all reference to this entry) with: 
  
 See: use (skills) 
 
Species 8472-related - replace this entry with: "See related." 
 
*stopped - in the list of things a "stopped" card may not do, add the 
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following item: "encounter a dilemma". 
 
Tamarian-related - replace this entry with: "See related." 

 
temporal agent-related - see related. 
 
Thine Own Self - replace the third paragraph with the following: add after the 

third paragraph 
 

 If the mission is already completed, the Away Team cannot be recovered. 
 

*use (skills) – replace the final paragraph with the following: 
 
Some cards, such as Temporal Benefactor, allow  your personnel to "use" a 
skill  without either having that skill printed or gaining it through another card 
(such as a Medical Kit) (see skills - modifying). If you choose to use it, it is 
treated exactly as if the personnel has gained the skill. You do not need to 
choose in advance whether you will use the skill.  
 
Some cards allow your personnel to "use" a skill like this in place of another 
skill that they already have. The levels of the original skill may come from 
any combination of personnel, who are treated as having a fraction of that 
skill proportional to their contribution. For example, The Art of Diplomacy 
allows your personnel to use 2 Treachery as if it were 1 Diplomacy. With this 
card, two personnel who have Treachery can provide 1 Diplomacy (each 
replaces their Treachery with Diplomacy x1/2), while another personnel who 
has Treachery x2 can provide another Diplomacy (Treachery x2 is replaced 
with Diplomacy x1). See skills - skill multipliers. On a mission specialist, this 
counts as "using" a specialist skill for Assign Mission Specialists. A personnel 
may not use their skill as the new skill and the replaced skill simultaneously. 

 
virus related – see related.  
 
You Know I'd Like To Help - This card does not allow [Fed] ships to play for 

free at the Bajoran facility Deep Space 9, even with Trust The Prophets in 
play. (Using this card at Deep Space 9 is not a "purpose related to its sites. 

 

Rulings Awaiting Errata 
 

The Sh'Raan can use its special download to get Combat-Ready: Tactical 
Reserve [despite its missing hyphen]. 

 
Downloads on Five of Fourteen and For The Sisko are in place of your 

"normal" card play. 
 
Ignore the Glossary entry for Edo Probe and do the following instead: If 

playing Borg affiliation, discard dilemma (neither choice is relevant). 
Otherwise, make choice when you first encounter dilemma. If you choose to 
abandon mission attempt, replace dilemma under mission. You may not 
reattempt until any player has completed a different mission. AT/crew is not 
"stopped" but cannot continue here. When you do reattempt, discard the 
dilemma; you do not re-encounter it. If your opponent attempts this mission 
before you reattempt, he/she does encounter it and must make the same 
choice. . If you choose to continue, and you complete the mission this turn 
(with any AT/crew), discard the dilemma. If you do not complete mission 
this turn, place the dilemma in your bonus point area. 

 
If you attempted to seed a time location, but failed to do so (because your 

opponent already seeded a copy, and time locations are non-duplicatable), 
you may use a copy of it in play as though it was yours 



Temporary Rulings (Pending Final Wording) 
 
 
Stops by different dilemmas create different crews / away teams. 
 
The specific requirement on Samaritan Snare (Federation must attempt this 

mission) overrides the OTF rule against attempting an opponent's mission. 
 
The "do nothing" part of Cytherians does not prevent other required actions. 
 
A Cytherians "shortcut" must directly result in shortened travel. For example, 

using Cytherians-affected Two of Nineteen's skill to download a Transwarp 
Network Gateway to move between two gateways is legal. But downloading 
to hand, or to build a new gateway, is not legal, as neither directly results in 
shortening travel. 
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